Skip to content

We Can’t Be Anything We Want To Be

August 23, 2015

How many times have you heard  the expression “You can do anything yo u want if you put your mind to it” ? When I hear it, I envision myself powerfully singing  on stage to the delight of a full house! I love singing. I took two years of voice lessons, twice a week and hundreds of hours of practice; after which time, the voice coach said that if I did another two years and practiced very hard, I might be able to sing in a choir!  I will treasure the memory of those lessons for the rest of my life, but I am thankful that it was not what I had chosen as a career path.  Otherwise, I might be long past retirement before I would be ready to start my professional auditions!

I tell clients that determining your path is about finding a career that matches what you are good at; with what you highly value and love doing. But, it is more than that. It involves choosing to use your natural strengths honed by life experience, that makes you who you are; then taking those strengths to create who you want to be.  It is nothing to do with how others value these strengths or the status we think they will have in society. It is a choice from within …and the courage and persistence to pursue it.

Steven Pressfield describes it well in his book The WAR of ART:

“We can’t be anything we want to be.

We come into the world with a specific personal destiny, we have a job to do, a calling to enact, a self to become. We are who we are from the cradle, and we are stuck with it.

Our job in this lifetime is not to shape ourselves into some ideal image we imagine we ought to be, but to find out who we are already and become it. “

Sometimes the path is obvious but often it takes careful self-assessment and plenty of dialogue. If you want to learn more: https://careeraviators.wordpress.com/re-invent/

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

