Skip to content

Rant: Entrepreneur Success – Finding The Right Measuring Stick

August 5, 2015

P1280688

It is strange, how profound learning comes in unique ways.  Recently, a client was mentioning that felt like he had found the “right mountain” (as described by Jim Hayhurst, in his book, The Right Mountain http://therightmountain.ca/) for his new career path.

Then he added “ I am also using the “right measuring stick” for my success” While the conversation continued with the client, my thoughts later reflected on my own career as an entrepreneur.

I have owned Career Aviators for four years  and there is no other job in my career that I have found as satisfying, as helping clients find jobs that they are good at; value highly; and love doing. I think I celebrate more than the clients do when I see them about to flourish in their career!

Yet until that comment, I felt that I was not being successful as an entrepreneur. Despite many efforts to fit into an assortment of the customary organizations that successful entrepreneurs belong to; I could not find a common bond with others in these organizations. I have the highest regard for the work of they do but I could not find a way to fit. My conversations with marketing experts and career advisors have all been helpful, but again I felt I could never measure up to their expectations.  I could not get excited much of it.

After that client’s comment, I realized that maybe I am on the right mountain too, but I have been using the wrong measuring stick to evaluate my success. The dictionary definition of entrepreneur “a person who organizes and manages any enterprise, especially a business, usually with considerable initiative and risk. “ does not say anything about sales, marketing plans or profit making.

What gets me excited is our nearly perfect success rate with clients over the past year. The client’s comment made me realize that the right measuring stick for me is how successful my clients are in finding jobs that they are good at; value highly and love doing. It is true that the business needs to be viable and well run but sales growth is not what motivates me or “lights me up” inside.

Money has never brought me happiness. My happiest times have often been when my salary has been lower than other jobs. Research on the relationship between happiness and money does not show a clear direct relationship that one may initially think. Kahneman, D., & Deaton, A. (2010) found that high income improves evaluation of life but not emotional well-being.

Using this new measuring stick about the success of my business has changed my whole outlook. The business will flourish. I do intend to reach out to as many people as possible with our proven system that helps clients to find jobs that they are good at; value highly and love doing. My passion for helping others to flourish is what will make this business grow. My success is going to be based on how successful each client is in finding a path where they will flourish. I will be vigilant to keep the business viable but I am building the business one successful client at time and that makes my spirits soar.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

